The Final Workshop of the CROSSNET (Cross-Layer Design and Network Planning for B3G Systems) project took place Tuesday, 19th February 2008, at Instituto de Telecomunicações, Instituto Superior Técnico, Av. Rovisco Pais, Lisbon, Portugal. There were 133 participants, 31% from Academia, 22 % from R&D Laboratories, 15% from Telecommunication Services and Maintenance, 11 % from Manufacturers, 11% from the Regulator, 7 % from Operators, and 3 % from Public Bodies and Safety Services. From the feedback received from the participants, the adhesion to the event was justified by their need to access discussion fora on technology trends and challenges in the telecommunications sector, and research on deployment strategies for Pervasive Broadband Wireless Access was faced as an endeavour.

The Keynote speakers were Prof. Elvino de Sousa, from University of Toronto, Dr. Tom Rondeau, from Trinity College Dublin, Prof. Loutfi Nuaymi, from Telecom Bretagne, and Prof. Javier Gozalvez, from Uwicore, University Miguel Hernandez, covering the topics of 4G visions, Broadband Wireless Access, cognitive radio and dynamic spectrum access. Presentations also covered opportunities, challenges, and the visions for Long Term Evolution, vehicular communications, and future spectrum management. One of the proposals is to deploy base stations (or access points) organically building autonomous infrastructure wireless networks.

The Workshop was sponsored by Ordem dos Engenheiros (Colégio de Engenharia Electrotécnica and Especialização de Telecomunicações), IEEE (Portugal Section and VTS Portugal Chapter), Academia de Ciências - Instituto de Altos Estudos, Academia de Engenharia, Advanced Resources, Alcatel-Lucent, ANACOM, Ericsson, FCT, Instituto Superior Técnico, Microsoft, POSC, PT Inovação, Rhode & Schwarz, University of Aveiro and University of Beira Interior.

A copy of abstracts and the majority of presentations is now available for download at the programme section.

General viewPresenting

Questioning presenteerFinal Panel

Organizing Committee
Alberto Nascimento, IT-UA, António Rodrigues, IT-IST, Atílio Gameiro, IT-UA, Carlos Salema, IT, Daniel Robalo, IT-UBI, Fernando J. Velez, IT-UBI, Jaime Afonso, ANACOM, João Ferro, IT-UBI, Jonathan Rodriguez, IT, Luís M. Borges, IT-UBI, Luís Miranda, Advanced Resources, Orlando Cabral, IT-UBI, Rui Costa, IT-UBI, Rui R. Paulo, IT-UBI, Valdemar Monteiro, IT-UA